Painting Details

Shatt Leshya-5 (vk-258)

Series Name :
Jainism Series
VK No :
Medium and Surface :
Watercolor on Arches paper
Paper Size :
Approx. Frame Size :
Frame Color :


Inclusive of frame and shipping charges.

Please select Indian Rupee only if you are purchasing in India. Select US Dollar if you are purchasing from out side of India.

U.S. Dollar
Indian Rupee

Delivery Destination: :

Return and exchange within one month*

Please read our Return and Exchange Policy for more details.

Painting Description:

Jain Religion (origin India) describes a concept named Shatt Leshya (षट लेश्या). Shatt means six. Leshya means a mental propensity, the inclination or natural tendency to behave in a certain way. The concept of Shatt Leshya grades human beings in 6 types and assigns 6 colors (of souls) to them. The worst grade (Krishn or Black) is most cruel, most deceitful, most envious. The noblest (Shukl or White) is most humble, most pious, most detached. This painting portrays all the six Leshya’s by way of a human face that has thorns in the case of 3 negative Leshya’s and flowers in the case of positive Leshya’s. The number of thorns reduces as cruelty decreases and the number of flowers increase as the compassion increases.